Cover Image for What Beauty There Is

For fans of Nina LaCour and Patrick Ness, this stark and stunning debut follows two teens, Ava and Jack, both faced with impossible choices: stay silent or speak; find the money or run.

What Beauty There Is

filled star filled star filled star filled star Star half-filled (542)
Print copy

“Beautifully written and superbly constructed, Anderson pulls you onto a chilling footpath of love and loss—and keeps you there until you've read every last word." —Ruta Sepetys, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea

Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Living in harsh poverty, Jack Dahl is holding his breath. He and his younger brother have nothing—except each other. And now Jack faces a stark choice: lose his brother to foster care or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

He chooses the money.

Ava Bardem lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one. Now Victor Bardem is stalking the same money as Jack. When he picks up on Jack’s trail, Ava must make her own wrenching choice: remain silent or speak, and help the brothers survive.

Choices. They come at a price.

Estimated Ship Date for Winners: March 10th, 2021

Author

Cory Anderson

Cory Anderson is a winner of the League of Utah Writers Young Adult Novel Award and Grand Prize in the Storymakers Conference First Chapter Contest. She lives in Utah with her family. What Beauty There Is is her debut novel.

Book Details

Publisher Macmillan Children's Publishing Group
Genre Young Adult
Publication Date Apr 06 2021
ISBN 9781250268099

Reviews

First Impressions

Books of the Same Genre