Cover Image for Salt and Sugar

The grandchildren of two rival Brazilian bakeries fall in love despite their families’ feud in this delicious Romeo & Juliet inspired debut rom-com perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Gloria Chao.

Salt and Sugar

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled (307)
Print copy

Trust neither thin-bottomed frying pans nor Molinas.

Lari Ramires has always known this to be true. In Olinda, Brazil, her family’s bakery, Salt, has been at war with the Molinas’ bakery across the street, Sugar, for generations. But Lari’s world turns upside down when her beloved grandmother passes away. On top of that, a big supermarket chain has moved to town, forcing many of the small businesses to close.

Determined to protect her home, Lari does the unthinkable—she works together with Pedro Molina to save both of their bakeries. Lari realizes she might not know Pedro as well as she thought—and she maybe even likes what she learns—but the question remains: Can a Ramires and a Molina truly trust one another?

Estimated Ship Date: October 5th, 2022

Get a sneak peek:

Read the First Look

Tell us what you think:

Author

Rebecca Carvalho

Rebecca Carvalho is a Recifense writer based in Berkeley, California. She loves crafting stories filled with close-knit neighborhoods, Brazilian food, and telenovela esque settings. When she is not writing, you can find her with her camera, gaming with her husband, or watching Star Trek for the hundredth time. Rebecca has a bachelor's degree in English from Lawrence University. Salt and Sugar is her debut novel, and it was inspired by her life in northeastern Brazil.

Book Details

Publisher Inkyard Press
Genre Young Adult
Publication Date Nov 01 2022
ISBN 9781335454331

First Impressions

Books of the Same Genre