Fresh Take on Dytopian Society | BookishFirst

Fresh Take on Dytopian Society

filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
book.amore Avatar

By

Shannon Schuren's The Virtue of Sin is a riveting YA novel that borders between dystopian and cult-based fiction. It's sure to a hit for fans of books like The Handmaid's Tale and Vox.

Miriam and Caleb believe that they are fated for one another. They've shown up in each other's dreams. On the day when marriage pairings are made, however, Miriam is partnered with Aaron instead.

From this point on, faultlines fracture Miriam's faith in her community, and she begins to wonder about the decisions of the charismatic leader of their community, Daniel. She begins to question life in "New Jerusalem" vs. "Outside."

This is a novel that focuses on themes of community, faith, and finding one's voice.