Cover Image for Never After

Real life and fairy tales collide in a new middle-grade series from #1 New York Times–bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.

Never After

The Thirteenth Fairy

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled (417)
Print copy

Nothing ever happens in Filomena Jefferson-Cho’s small California town. The sun shines every day, the grass is always green, and while her school swears there’s no bullying, she knows firsthand that isn't true. But one day, when she’s walking home from her favorite bookstore on her own, something strange occurs. Filomena is being followed by Jack Stalker, one of the heroes in the Thirteenth Fairy, a book series she loves. She must be dreaming or reading. But Jack is insistent—he’s real, the stories are real, and Filomena must come at once!

Soon, she is thrust into a world of fairies, princesses, sorcerers, and slayers, where an evil queen drives her army to erase the Fairy tribes. To save the kingdom, Filomena must find the truth behind the tale of the Thirteenth Fairy before the cycle of destruction begins again.

Winners will receive 1 paperback copy
Estimated Ship Date: October 26, 2021


Melissa de la Cruz

Melissa de la Cruz is the #1 New York Times, #1 Publisher’s Weekly and #1 Indie Bound bestselling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for readers of all ages, and edited the inspiring anthology of true stories, Because I Was a Girl. She grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from The Convent of the Sacred Heart. At Columbia University, she majored in art history and English. Melissa de la Cruz lives in West Hollywood with her husband and daughter.

Book Details

Publisher Macmillan Children's Publishing Group
Genre Middle Grade
Publication Date Oct 26 2021
ISBN 9781250808301


First Impressions

Books of the Same Genre