Cover Image for Beautiful Bad
The perfect marriage leads to the perfect crime

Beautiful Bad

filled star filled star filled star filled star Star half-filled (384)

The book that's already being called 2019's Thriller of the Year

For fans of The Woman in the Window and Gone Girl comes a twisted and addictive psychological thriller about a devoted wife, a loving husband and a chilling murder that no one saw coming.

Things that make me scared: When Charlie cries. Hospitals and lakes. When Ian drinks vodka in the basement. ISIS. When Ian gets angry… That something is really, really wrong with me.

Maddie and Ian’s romance began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian’s PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son, Charlie; and the couple’s tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.

From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime.

"As imaginatively constructed as it is compelling. Filled with unexpected twists, Beautiful Bad is a riveting read." –Sarah Pekkanen, New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Between Us

Author

Thumb
© Josiah Richards

Annie Ward

ANNIE WARD has a BA in English Literature from UCLA and a MFA in Screenwriting from the American Film Institute. Her first short screenplay, Strange Habit, starring Adam Scott was an official selection of the Sundance Film Festival and the Grand Jury Award winner at the Aspen Film Festival. She has received a Fulbright Scholarship and An Escape to Create Artists residency. She lives in Kansas with her family.

Book Details

Publisher Park Row
Genre Mysteries & Thrillers
Released on Mar 19 2019
ISBN 9780778369103

Reviews

First Impressions

Books of the same Genre