Powerful Memoir

filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
booklover giselle Avatar

By

(𝙱) This heartbreakingly raw memoir tells the story of Mikel Jollet’s tumultuous life leading up to and shortly after becoming the frontman of the Airborne Toxic Event. It starts with his birth into the Synanon cult, then leads us through his difficult journey to building a life as a writer and musician.

(𝙻) I was touched by his remarkable honesty about a childhood filled with abject poverty, addiction, and emotional abuse. The pacing in which the story unfolds allows for intimate inspection into the cause-effect of this childhood trauma.

(𝚄) Stop the cycle! This book really conveys the depth in which parental mental health issues, like chronic depression and narcissism, impact the physical and mental development of children.

(𝙴) Jollet’s memoir pulled my California childhood memories to the surface. I was completely emotionally invested in his experiences and insight. Highly recommend for fans of Educated and The Glass Castle.

▻ ▻ ▻
𝙱: brief synopsis
𝙻: likes/dislikes
𝚄: utility
𝙴: experience