Cover Image for We All Fall Down

King. Maiden. Hero. Monster.
Only they can awaken the magic.

We All Fall Down

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled (283)
Print copy

The first book in a dark fantasy YA duology by Rose Szabo, the author of What Big Teeth, about the power and danger of stories and the untold costs of keeping magic alive, perfect for fans of Aiden Thomas and Marie Rutkoski.

In River City, where magic used to thrive and is now fading, the witches who once ruled the city along with their powerful King have become all but obsolete. The city's crumbling government is now controlled primarily by the new university and teaching hospital, which has grown to take over half of the city.

Moving between the decaying Old City and the ruthless New, four young queer people struggle with the daily hazards of life—work, school, dodging ruthless cops and unscrupulous scientists—not realizing that they have been selected to play in an age-old drama that revives the flow of magic through their world. When a mysterious death rocks their fragile peace, the four are brought into each other's orbits as they uncover a deeper magical conspiracy.

Devastating, gorgeous, and utterly unique, We All Fall Down examines the complex network of pain created by power differentials, even between people who love each other—and how it is possible to be queer and turn out just fine.

Estimated Ship Date: May 13th, 2022

Author

Rose Szabo

Rose Szabo is the author of What Big Teeth and We All Fall Down, the first book in the River City duology. A nonbinary writer from Richmond, VA, they live with an assortment of people and animals. They have an MA in English from the University of Maine and an MFA in creative writing from VCU.

Book Details

Publisher Macmillan Children's Publishing Group
Genre Young Adult
Publication Date Jun 07 2022
ISBN 9780374314323

Reviews

evanlikesmen
filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
May 26 2022 – 11:38 PM

Wow

Oh my gosh, has soon as I saw the cover of this books on my page I was immediately in ore the...

sophareads
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
May 28 2022 – 09:10 PM

Interesting story

3.5 Stars rounded up because I am between feelings and I think this book deserves a bit higher...

jemima
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
May 26 2022 – 03:24 PM

Wow

Oh my gosh, has soon as I saw the cover of this books on my page I was immediately in ore the...

First Impressions

Books of the Same Genre