Watch Her - Edwin Hill | BookishFirst
Cover Image for Watch Her
A complex new thriller featuring a brilliant yet flawed librarian, a for-profit university mired in scandal, and a powerful Boston family desperate to keep old secrets buried…

Watch Her

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled (427)
Print copy

In this intelligently dark suspense novel by two-time Agatha Award nominated author Edwin Hill, Harvard librarian Hester Thursby and her fellow guest, Detective Angela White, are called to the home of Prescott University’s owners Tucker and Jennifer Matson while attending a gala at the college’s lavish new campus. Jennifer claims that someone broke into Pinebank, their secluded mansion on the banks of Jamaica Pond. The more Hester and Angela investigate, the less they believe Jennifer's story, leaving Hester to wonder why she would lie.

When Hester is asked by the college's general manager to locate some missing alumni, she employs her research skills on the family and their for-profit university. Between financial transgressions, a long-ago tragedy, and rumors of infidelity, it's clear that the Matsons aren't immune to scandal or mishap. But when one of the missing students turns up dead, the mystery takes on new urgency.

Hester is edging closer to the truth, but as a decades-old secret collides with new lies, a killer grows more determined to keep the past buried with the dead. . .

“Complex characterization and a masterly mystery make this a superior read.” —Kirkus

"Hits that elusive sweet spot yet again with an impeccable blend of intelligent and relatable characters confronted with a dangerous and complex crime in a fascinating setting. Hill masterfully ratchets up the tension until it's impossible to look away. Hester Thursby fans will not be disappointed!" —Karen Dionne, award-winning bestselling author of The Wicked Sister

“Thursby is a tough, cerebral, relatably flawed sleuth who lulls herself to sleep with horror films and takes on serial killers and unexpected motherhood without skipping a beat. A dark but compassionate psychological-thriller debut with great appeal for fans of Ruth Ware and Cornelia Read.” —Booklist STARRED REVIEW for Little Comfort

“An increasingly tense plot and striking characters–in particular, compassionate, conflicted, loving Hester–make this a standout.” —Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW for Little Comfort

“This whodunit has broken family dynamics and a wonderfully complex and intricate mystery.” —Library Journal STARRED REVIEW for The Missing Ones

Estimated Ship Date for Winners: November 18, 2020

Author

© Thomas Bollinger

Edwin Hill

Edwin Hill is the author of the critically-acclaimed Hester Thursby mystery series, the first of which, Little Comfort, was an Agatha Award finalist, a selection of the Mysterious Press First Mystery Club and a Publishers Marketplace Buzz Books selection. The second installment, The Missing Ones, was also an Agatha Award finalist and a Sue Grafton Memorial Award nominee. Formerly the vice president and editorial director for Bedford/St. Martin's (Macmillan), he now teaches at Emerson College and has written for the LA Review of Books, The Life Sentence, Publishers Weekly, and Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine. He lives in Roslindale, Massachusetts with his partner Michael and their Labrador, Edith Ann.

Book Details

Publisher Kensington Publishing Corp.
Genre Mysteries & Thrillers
Publication Date Dec 29 2020
ISBN 9781496726766

Reviews

First Impressions

Books of the same Genre