Fabulous Feminist Sci-fi Story

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
allie.peduto Avatar

By

Fans of The Handmaid’s Tale, I am talking to you about this one!! This was a fabulous feminist sci-fi novel, and I recommend it to every woman and man out there because this is the kind of stuff we should be thinking and talking about. The high level summary is that the book revolves around an “edit war,” in which a fierce group of female time travelers are battling out the history of women’s reproductive rights with a group of male “Comstockers” who think women shouldn’t have rights at all. The story is split between Tess, one of the time travelers who is focusing on saving women’s rights in the late 19th century, and Beth, who is a teenager in the early 1990s, and is dealing with her own personal set of issues. At first glance those two stories do not seem related, but trust me, they are. There is science and honestly, some magic, because a lot of the aspects of time travel just can’t be explained. I’m more than fine with that since I am not a technically minded person, but if you are looking for a really in depth time travel explanation, this is the wrong book to read. What I find most interesting about the time travel in this story though is that instead of it being invented in a future time, it is an inherent part of the world that people have been studying since the dawn of humanity. There is a lot going on in this book and all of it is great, which is why I also feel that it would be a fantastic book club novel. I’m certainly going to discuss it at my next book club, but for anyone who needs a little punk rock riot grrrl energy in their life right now, this one is for you!