Cover Image for Hello (From Here)

Could staying apart bring them closer together?

Hello (From Here)

filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled (443)
Print copy

A heartfelt, witty, and thought-provoking YA love story about two teens who fall for each other while forced apart during quarantine, written by two New York Times bestselling authors, and for fans of Five Feet Apart, Anna and the French Kiss, and My Life Next Door.

Maxine and Jonah meet in the canned goods aisle just as California is going into lockdown. Max’s part-time job as a personal grocery shopper is about to transform into a hellish gauntlet. Jonah’s preexisting anxiety is about to become an epic daily struggle. As Max and Jonah get to know each other through FaceTime dates, socially distanced playground hangs, and the escalating heartbreaks of the pandemic, they’re pushed apart by what they don’t share and pulled closer by what they do.

As thoughtful, probing, and informed as it is buoyant, romantic, and funny, Hello (From Here) cuts across differences in class, privilege, and mental health, all thrown into stark relief by the COVID-19 pandemic. Here’s a novel that looks at the first two months of the quarantine, and adds falling in love to the mess.

Estimated Ship Date for Winners: August 23rd, 2021

Authors

Chandler Baker

Chandler Baker is the author of five young adult novels, including This is Not the End. Her adult debut, Whisper Network, was a New York Times bestseller and Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick, and her follow-up, The Husbands, is slated for summer '21. Chandler lives in Austin, Texas with her husband and two young children. She can usually be found listening to audiobooks at two times the normal speed, overspending at bookstores, or obsessing over true crime.

Wesley King

Wesley King is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of eleven novels, including the Wizenard series with Kobe Bryant, the Edgar Award-winning and Bank Street Best Book of the Year OCDaniel, and the Junior Library Guild selections The Vindico and The Feros. He lives in Nova Scotia, as well as on a 1967 boat that he's sailing around the world.

Book Details

Publisher Penguin Teen
Genre Young Adult
Publication Date Sep 07 2021
ISBN 9780593326121

Reviews

First Impressions

Books of the Same Genre