Reviews of By the Book

paperreader
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
May 16 2019 – 11:41 PM

Cute!

First of all, this cover is everything and so adorable! A true book lover will adore this book...

kelsreads
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Feb 12 2019 – 06:14 PM

A Modern Persuasion

This book is great for fans of Jane Austen, and I picked it up because it's marketed as a modern...

gracie lou
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Sep 16 2018 – 11:07 PM

An Enjoyable Read

Gallery Books and NetGalley provided me with an electronic copy of By the Book. I was under no...

snooopydoo's book reviews
filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled star unfilled
Aug 29 2018 – 03:19 PM

Not For Me

I’m always up for a second chance romance, but unfortunately this book was not for me....

laceyblossom
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Aug 05 2018 – 10:49 AM

Surprising

By The Book surprised me, both in good and bad ways. I was intrigued because I knew this was a...

bree
filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
Jul 17 2018 – 08:33 AM

Excellent!

I LOVE books set on college campuses (especially those that do a truly excellent job at capturing...

cmcgowan
filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled star unfilled
Jun 07 2018 – 11:54 AM

Not a good read for me...

It's so bland. So. So. So. Bland. The original premise and cover (my fault - I judged a book...

beth
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
May 25 2018 – 01:23 PM

Totally Austen!

I was sold when I realized it was a take on a Jane Austen novel. The first few chapters drew me...

overstuffedshelves
filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
May 11 2018 – 08:52 AM

Love!

By the Book is a retelling of Jane Austen's Persuasion. This story is set at a small college in...

witkneey
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
May 09 2018 – 08:06 PM

Heartwarming story

I must first confess, that I have never read Jane Austen's Persuasion. When I realized the novel...

bookishsisters
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
May 02 2018 – 11:32 PM

A nice read

I expected a good read when I picked up this book and that’s exactly what the author delivered....

biblio_ginger
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Apr 13 2018 – 04:40 PM

A fun read

I wanted to read By the Book because it is supposed to be a modern retelling of Persuasion by...

aanika
filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
Apr 02 2018 – 01:04 PM

Wow

What an eyecatching cover. What a plot. What a story. This was heavenly to read and felt...

thelithaven
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Mar 29 2018 – 09:51 PM

Excellent Premise

This is just an initial impression based on the "first look," but I'm loving the premise. Julia...

chelsea409
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Mar 27 2018 – 01:49 PM

Great

As someone who works in a library and a very avid reader the cover of this book just drew me in!...

kdmcwilley
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
Mar 24 2018 – 01:40 AM

Buy This Book

Oh, this was such a sweet excerpt from this book. The minute I saw the words Jane Austen in the...

snowskier036
filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
Mar 23 2018 – 10:52 AM

I loved it!

I have wanted to read this book ever since I saw it on Bookishfirst and I so badly wanted to win...

bmurray
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Mar 18 2018 – 03:49 PM

Silly fun!

This is a cute funny beach read. It is a romantic book with quick bites of humor. The characters...

andi619
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Mar 11 2018 – 10:26 PM

Basic Love Story

While I enjoyed By The Book, by Julia Sonneborn, it wasn't something that ever really pulled me...

book gypsy
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
Mar 09 2018 – 03:28 PM

Great read

This was a stunning debut. It was so much more than I expected it to be. The prose was witty and...

coffeeandastory
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Mar 03 2018 – 05:55 PM

Bookish Fun

By The Book by Julia Sonneborn is a retelling of Persuasion by Jane Austen. Since I've never read...

Pencil

Why don’t you share your opinion on the book too?

Pages of content