Reviews of By the Book

sychbelow
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Jan 05 2020 – 06:24 PM

No depth

Like many other commenters, I love Persuasion and was hoping that this version would turn out to...

bethm1974
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
Jan 01 2020 – 07:33 PM

Cute!

By the Book was the first book I've read by Julia Sonnborne and I have to say that it definitely...

vpeipert
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Nov 23 2019 – 02:23 AM

Meh

This book was enjoyable but not a standout piece of literature. It’s a modern rendition of a...

adventure
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
Sep 21 2019 – 10:19 AM

Quaint

I wasn't sure what to expect with this one, but I was excited to read it. It's probably good I...

xoxoswim13
filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled star unfilled
Jul 17 2019 – 01:35 PM

Not What I Thought

Unfortunately, I was not impressed with this book. It took me over a month to get through, which...

maryella
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
Jun 29 2019 – 10:25 AM

Some good romance!

Anne Corey is trying to make tenure, write a book, and care for her father, with whom she has a...

paperreader
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
May 16 2019 – 11:41 PM

Cute!

First of all, this cover is everything and so adorable! A true book lover will adore this book...

kelsreads
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Feb 12 2019 – 06:14 PM

A Modern Persuasion

This book is great for fans of Jane Austen, and I picked it up because it's marketed as a modern...

gracie lou
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Sep 16 2018 – 11:07 PM

An Enjoyable Read

Gallery Books and NetGalley provided me with an electronic copy of By the Book. I was under no...

snooopydoo's book reviews
filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled star unfilled
Aug 29 2018 – 03:19 PM

Not For Me

I’m always up for a second chance romance, but unfortunately this book was not for me....

laceyblossom
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Aug 05 2018 – 10:49 AM

Surprising

By The Book surprised me, both in good and bad ways. I was intrigued because I knew this was a...

bree
filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
Jul 17 2018 – 08:33 AM

Excellent!

I LOVE books set on college campuses (especially those that do a truly excellent job at capturing...

cmcgowan
filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled star unfilled
Jun 07 2018 – 11:54 AM

Not a good read for me...

It's so bland. So. So. So. Bland. The original premise and cover (my fault - I judged a book...

beth
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
May 25 2018 – 01:23 PM

Totally Austen!

I was sold when I realized it was a take on a Jane Austen novel. The first few chapters drew me...

overstuffedshelves
filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
May 11 2018 – 08:52 AM

Love!

By the Book is a retelling of Jane Austen's Persuasion. This story is set at a small college in...

witkneey
filled star filled star filled star filled star star unfilled
May 09 2018 – 08:06 PM

Heartwarming story

I must first confess, that I have never read Jane Austen's Persuasion. When I realized the novel...

bookishsisters
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
May 02 2018 – 11:32 PM

A nice read

I expected a good read when I picked up this book and that’s exactly what the author delivered....

biblio_ginger
filled star filled star filled star star unfilled star unfilled
Apr 13 2018 – 04:40 PM

A fun read

I wanted to read By the Book because it is supposed to be a modern retelling of Persuasion by...

aanika
filled star filled star filled star filled star filled star
Apr 02 2018 – 01:04 PM

Wow

What an eyecatching cover. What a plot. What a story. This was heavenly to read and felt...

Pencil

Why don’t you share your opinion on the book too?

Pages of content